Black Bean Burgers… Way good for you, SO THERE, Jillian Micheals!!!

Weighing in today at 176. That’s officially 10 lbs. since I started WW this year.

I’m doing the 30 day shred and I don’t think I will stop doing it after 30 days. Good workout and I’m not strong enough to get through level 3 in only 30 days. But I’m also doing Weight Watchers and that means I’m hungry all the time. I’m also broke. I have discovered the solution to all of these. The vegan black bean burger. Here’s the recipe but I wanted to share it because it makes a ton of burgers and is cheap and really good for you and only 2.5 WW points per burger which is less than a griller and WAY cheaper.

1 can black beans
1 can garbanzo beans

Puree together

2 cups made oatmeal (that means you make it up and then put it in)
2-3 cups Panko bread crumbs depending on the texture you want
1-1.5 cups chopped onion
1-1.5 cups diced celery
2-3 tablespoons ground flax seed
1 small can diced green chilies

spices to taste

I use the following (great thing about vegan recipes is you can taste as you go along because there is no fear of salmonella or anything from the raw egg):
chili powder
salt
black pepper
cumin
garlic powder
onion powder

each burger should use about 1/3 cup mix and be “fried” in a little Pam or a little olive oil until heated through and a little crispy on each side.

5 Comments

Filed under Black Bean Burgers, Jillian Michaels, vegan recipe, Weight Watchers

5 responses to “Black Bean Burgers… Way good for you, SO THERE, Jillian Micheals!!!

  1. >I made these today with guessing some of the things. Here is a couple of questions?1. What size cans for canned ingredients?2. Do you drain the beans?I drained the black beans but not the garbanzos as I need liquid to puree. I use standard size cans and I wrote down the tsp for the spices you used. The family loved them. I served them with a chiffonade cut Spinach with a vegan ranch dressing. I used that for "lettuce". I didn'tuse may, but used sliced tomatoe and avocado. I toasted the bread a bit, but a really good bun would have been better. All in all it was a hit and I will serve them again.

  2. >We love black bean burger here. I'm definately trying this recipe!

  3. >I drain the garbanzos and not the black. I use standard 15 oz cans for the beans. I dump spices until it tastes how I like it. I like it with Avocado also. If you use an avocado puree instead of mayo, you are saving yourself 4 points per burger as I put about 1 tbsp on each side.

  4. >They were super tasty. I didn't know about them at first but I had a second sandwich today for lunch with them. Yum…and very little guilt.

  5. >These are seriously yummy! We had them the other night on fluffy whole wheat buns with corn on the cob and a salad. Delish!

Leave a Reply

