Mom’s Awesomely Easy Spanish Rice

For many years, I have been enjoying my mother’s Spanish Rice. When I was young I thought it would be way to hard to do myself but imagine my surpize when Mom showed me how to do it just before I was married and it was SO EASY! The essential thing with this rice is Sazon Goya Seasoning. You must have this!

This is one of my all-the-time dishes so imagine how annoyed I was when we moved to Montana and the seasoning is NOWHERE TO BE FOUND! Therefore, when I went home to southern Colorado, I stocked up and brought it back in my suitcase. I will now be purchasing it on Amazon because I use it in EVERYTHING! I use it to make an awesome thick sauce for fajitas. I use it in Guacamole although I have learned to do without lately because I don’t want to use up something that I don’t NEED in a dish that doesn’t require it. The Spanish Rice isn’t the same without it. Here’s the recipe! Hope you enjoy!

2 cups minute rice

1/2 red onion diced

1 tbsp capers (optional)

1/3 cup sliced Spanish olives with pimentos

1/4 cup chopped fresh cilantro (optional)

2 tbsp olive oil

1/4 tsp salt (add more if you like… you can always add, you can’t take it out once it’s in there and the Sazon Seasoning it salty)

1/4 tsp black pepper

1 3/4 cup water

two packets Sazon Seasoning

In a medium sized frying pan, saute onion in olive oil on medium heat until onion is translucent. Add rice  and Sazon Seasoning and “brown” which means to let it get all covered in olive oil and seasoning. It needs to fry up just a bit. Add pepper, salt, cilantro, capers and olives and stir it around so it’s well incorporated. Add water, pat down the rice so that it’s all even across the pan. Cover it and remove from heat. Wait 5 minutes. You may have to drain excess liquid and let it sit a little longer to get drier. Serve warm. This is also GREAT in burritos.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Mom’s Awesomely Easy Spanish Rice

  1. Karen

    Love it!! Oh so yummy!!!!

  2. Pingback: Cooking Tip: Mexican Food is ALL THE SAME! | A New Kind of Normal

Leave a Reply

