Terrifying

The other day, after leaving this situation, I couldn’t get my mind off it. A while back I put my application in at a homeless shelter (as a volunteer) and never heard back. That was discouraging and I didn’t pursue it further but after last weekend, it all came up again – that feeling that God is calling me to do something about the suffering that I see on the streets. I need to feel like I’m a part of helping keep people from living in tents under the bridge.

The great thing about America and this town in particular is that there are already many organizations that are set up to help people. At first, I couldn’t take seeing any homeless person. Then I found out about Missoula 3:16 and the fact that they serve meals to people (anyone!) 2 times a day 364 days a year. There is no reason to be hungry in Missoula, MT! Then a lady came to our MOPS group and told us about the resources for teenagers who are dealing with unplanned pregnancy. I was moved by that.

But what about my girl, at night, alone, looking for somewhere to go? What about those emergencies? Today I found out about Missoula 211. It’s the first call for help line. They deal with EVERYTHING! I’m no longer at a loss for what to do for people who need real help, not just a hand out. In fact, there is no reason to need a hand out in Missoula EVER! There are SO many resources. If you really want help, if you really need that boost, Missoula has a plethora of HELP! And I want to be a part of that!

I have been scared to go to the teenage resource place here in Missoula because… I don’t know why. I was terrified that they wouldn’t need me, or want me. What could I possibly offer? I don’t know why I thought that. I’m a person who has plenty of experience with teenagers. I have dealt with many a hard situation and I love God and want to share his love with people. Isn’t that enough? I think so. So today I finally got up the courage to go to CareNet and find out what I can do to help. I was sweating going up the elevator and when there wasn’t anyone at the desk, I almost bolted out the door. I made myself ring the little bell for help and they were all over me. I was ushered into a back room and drilled about my religious beliefs, handed an application and told to fill it out and come back.

I’ll keep you all updated on how it goes. I’m really nervous about it. I want to help. I feel that pull of God but for some reason, I’m scared. What if I totally screw someones life up?

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Terrifying

  1. Callie you are a GREAT person for a job like that. You have people’s (teens) best interests at heart….you can’t screw their life up…..God will use you in a big way especially if you are being lead by Him to do this. I am really proud that you are following what you know God is asking of you. Wow…..you are awesome!

  2. Lisa

    Callie,
    I don’t know you; I went to college with Andy and was on AcroAirs with him, but I saw your blog on his FB page and was moved by this subject. I wanted to share with you a nonprofit that I volunteer with that looks like it might be of interest to you. It’s called Family Promise or the Interfaith Hospitality Network. It is a shelter for displaced families in crisis who need a place to stay and help getting back on their feet.

    It works through a network of interfaith churches who volunteer to provide shelter and food for one week to the families in the program. In Jacksonville, we have 16 churches working together in the rotation. The families come to our church on Sunday afternoon and they live there for the week. We turn the Sabbath school rooms into makeshift hotel rooms and the families sleep there and eat dinner with us before they go back to the day center Downtown in the morning to go to work or get career-placement assistance. Then, in the evening, they come back to the church. We have the families for one week before they move on to the next church in the rotation. When the rotation is over, we start all over again.

    The keyword in the program is “families.” The program doesn’t accept residents unless they have children. We’ve been participating in the program for about a year and a half and so far, the youngest “homeless person” we’ve helped was 3 months old. The oldest was a 60-year-old grandmother who came in with her children and grandchildren.

    Like you, it breaks my heart to know there are little ones in such need and it has been SUCH a blessing to be a part of this ministry and share God’s love with people who just need to be loved more than anything else.

    I did a little research, and if you’re interested, there is a Family Promise affiliate in development in Missoula. (http://www.familypromise.org/?q=content/Montana) The day center has the only full-time staff members in each affiliate and they typically have a director, a case manager and a driver. They also have volunteers who work in the day center in addition to the volunteers in the churches. If you’re interested, you might be able to contact them and get involved there, as well.

    God bless you in your quest to make a difference for God. And God bless your beautiful family! Your little girls are adorable. 🙂

    Lisa (Schwerin) Lenda

    • Lisa: Thanks so much for the information. I’ll check it out. Depending on how much time I have, we’ll see how it works out. I’m excited to be armed with the information and I feel like I have something to offer people now instead of just handing a few bucks out the window!

  3. Pingback: Volunteering Update | A New Kind of Normal

Leave a Reply

