Curried Vegetables and Tofu Over Rice

I love simmer sauces. I love to make curried anything with simmer sauces. This is an easy semi-homemade simmer sauce recipe.

You need:

6 tablespoons coconut milk

One can of simmer sauce of your choice

One block of extra firm tofu

1 red bell pepper

1/2 red onion diced into 3/4 inch squares

1/2 cup frozen peas

2 red potatoes diced into 3/4 inch squares

Options: You can substitute whatever vegetables you want. Some other great ones I like in these are carrots cut into 1 inch lengths or rounds or eggplant peeled and diced into 3/4 inch squares.

2 tablespoons olive oil

2 bay leaves

a pinch of dried cilantro

1 tablespoon butter (or vegan buttery spread)

salt

Instructions:

Cut the tofu into squares and salt well. Fry well in a non-stick frying pan. You have to let it fry a long time on each side of you want a good crust on each piece. Resist the urge to move it around in the pan. Just let it fry.

Drain the tofu pieces on a paper towel and set aside. Boil the potatoes a bit because they won’t fully cook in the simmer sauce.

Saute the rest of the vegetables in a little olive oil in the bottom of a large pot. I use my laminated dutch oven because I’m totally in love with that pot and it makes for nice pictures!

I know I’m using tongs here but that’s because I was using them to turn the tofu and I just used them to give the sauteing veggies a stir. Add the potatoes and tofu that you set aside and pour the simmer sauce over it all.Delhi Korma Simmer Sauce

This particular simmer sauce asks you to add about a 1/2 cup of water. Read the back to find out if the one you buy needs that. I add the coconut milk to all the sauces I buy because I like it. It cools off the curry a bit. In this particular recipe, I left the tofu to the side because Abby doesn’t appreciate the amazing wonderfulness of curry. I feed her the tofu on the side of her rice. It needs to simmer for about 20 minutes on a low simmer or until the potatoes are soft.

While that’s a cookin’, make rice. I serve curry over rice. You can just eat it out of a bowl with a piece of flat bread! It’s yummy that way too. Ok… rice. I use instant. I know, but this is semi-homemade. I think it’s good.

2 cups of water with a pinch of salt, a pinch of cilantro, two bay leaves and a tablespoon of butter or vegan buttery spread.

As soon as it comes to a boil. Add two cups of 5 minutes rice, stir, cover and set aside away from the heat for 5-10 minutes.

Serve the curry over the rice and LOVE ME FOR SUGGESTING IT!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

