Fried Rice for Dummies

Now, I love this recipe but I may be alone in that. Try it and see. I’m not Asian. I’m not an Asian food connoisseur. I just have leftover rice and some peas and this turned out yummy.

2 cups white rice (Any type will do. It can even be leftover from another meal.)
1-2 tsp sesame oil (or vegetable oil)
2 eggs, scrambled (or tofu scramble depending on whether you are sticking with the vegan thing or on a “break”)
1/4 cup chopped green onion (the ones with the little tiny bulbs and the long green stems)
3-4 tbsp soy sauce
1/2-2/3 cup frozen peas (depending on how much you like peas – maybe even more!)
1 tbsp chopped peanuts
a dash of salt (just a dash because the soy sauce is already salty)
a dash of red pepper flakes (if you are feelin’ spicy)

Add all ingredients into a wok and “fry” on med heat until it’s all a mixed up and hot and yummy looking. I scramble the eggs (or tofu) in the wok before I do anything else and then add all the ingredients after that. Just saves a pan. I have no idea whether this is Asian or Thai or whatever. I just love it!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

