Stressed Out

I was recently reminded that we are all stressed. It’s easy for us to think, “No one else is going through what I’m going through.” That’s true. No one is. You have your own unique situation that no one else is dealing with.

It’s also easy to think, “No one understands how crazy I am!” (Especially when you are a mom.) However!!! We all have our stress. Don’t think that just because you have unique circumstances that you are alone in being stressed or that you are more stressed than someone else. Every single one of us is dealing with something – kids, finances, loneliness, fear, unemployment, sleeplessness, and a myriad of other things. It’s a very stressful life living in sin. That’s the lot we drew and the burden we have been chosen to bear.

I hear very often, “Well, you don’t know what it’s like.” You are soooo right. I don’t. Most of the time. Sometimes I know exactly what it’s like. But that doesn’t mean I have no idea what stress is.

What helps, for me, is faith. Another thing I hear quite often is, “Well, I like to keep my faith private,” or, “I’m not sure what that does for me.” I’ll tell you what it does for me. I don’t have alot of scientific evidence that God exists. For me, in the end, it comes down to how I want t live my life. Do I want to believe this is the only life I’m ever going to live? Do I want to just make the best of it and muddle through and die and that’s the end? Is there nothing bigger or better after this? Is there no one bigger out there helping us through or cheering us on or waiting for us to join Him in that better place?

I like to think there is. There is Someone out there. He’s there and He cares. If this is a crutch, so be it. Why not? Why shouldn’t I believe this and live knowing that He loves me and is in control and I don’t have to worry or be stressed? Won’t that make my life here easier? If that makes me a better person to live with, shouldn’t I have that faith? Personally, I believe I have seen the hand of that God in my life. I choose to believe that He is the God of the Bible. I choose to NOT be stressed every second of the day. Handing over control to Someone else who knows EVERYTHING makes my life way less stressful. Prayer for strength, courage and help everyday HELPS ME! Fellowship with others who believe the same thing and support each other HELPS ME. I can’t prove in any way that it’s REAL. But I can believe it. I can live it. And I can shed some of that stress. Happy Sabbath.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

